About Me

I would like to tell you a little about myself and my professional background. I believe this kind of information helps people decide whether they would choose to see a particular therapist or not. Being a psychologist is my second career. Before I became a psychologist I was a Registered Nurse and worked in Surgical ICU and Emergency Departments in Vermont and Connecticut. I attended graduate school at the University of Connecticut and did my Internship in the Department of Medical Psychology at the Oregon Health and Sciences University. After receiving my Ph.D. I completed a two year Post-Doctoral Residency in Medical Psychology at OHSU. I have been working in the field in private practice since 1989. As you can tell, I have put a lot of professional focus on issues of health and wellness, as well as working with issues of chronic illness and chronic pain. I strongly believe that psychological well-being is an essential part of physical well-being. Accordingly, I work on stress management and lifestyle management as part of my treatment strategies when dealing with depression and anxiety. I also believe that healthy relationships are part of our foundation for a healthy life, and skills to maintain healthy interpersonal relationships are part of my treatment focus. I try to incorporate psycho-education, skills development, and cognitive strategies along with understanding of emotional reactions as part of psychotherapy. Finding balance in life between home, work, self-care and other-care is a problem I often encounter and I work to help people achieve that balance. My treatment focus is one that draws from a variety of theoretical backgrounds and I try to create a treatment plan that is tailored to each individual's particular needs.

Personally, I try to utilize the skills I teach. I have been married over 20 years and have raised three children while building my practice. I enjoy the lifestyle Oregon has to offer and get outside to hike or Kayak as I can. I am an avid reader, a mediocre knitter, and a sports fan. I have 2 dogs and 2 cats and I try to learn about living a peaceful life from them.   

Schedule Appointment

Start your new path in life and be the change today!

Click Here

Helpful Forms

Click here to view and print forms for your appointment

Click Here